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2-15-1701. Department of labor and industry -- head. (1) There is a department of 
labor and industry. As prescribed in Article XII, section 2, of the Montana constitution, the 
department head is the commissioner of labor and industry.  
     (2) The commissioner shall be appointed and serve as provided for directors in 2-15-111.  
     (3) The commissioner shall receive an annual salary in such amount as may be specified by 
the legislature in the appropriation to the department of labor and industry.  
     (4) Before entering on the duties of his office, he must take and subscribe to the oath of 
office prescribed by the Montana constitution.  

     History: (1)En. 82A-1001 by Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1971; Sec. 82A-1001, R.C.M. 1947; (2) thru 
(4)Ap. p. Sec. 2, Ch. 177, L. 1951; Sec. 41-1602, R.C.M. 1947; Ap. p. Sec. 3, Ch. 177, L. 1951; 
amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 27, L. 1957; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 225, L. 1963; amd. Sec. 20, Ch. 177, L. 1965; 
amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 237, L. 1967; amd. Sec. 19, Ch. 100, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 343, L. 1977; 
Sec. 41-1603, R.C.M. 1947; R.C.M. 1947, 41-1602, 41-1603, 82A-1001(part); amd. Sec. 20, 
Ch. 184, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 116, L. 1981.  

2-15-1756. Board of public accountants. (1) There is a board of public accountants.  
     (2) The board consists of seven members appointed by the governor. The members are:  
     (a) four certified public accountants certified under Title 37, chapter 50, who are certified and 
actively engaged in the practice of public accounting and who have held a valid certificate for at 
least 5 years before being appointed. The Montana society of certified public accountants shall 
submit to the governor annually a list of names of two candidates from which the appointments 
of these members may be made. However, the governor is not restricted to the names on this 
list. These members may not be residents of the same county.  
     (b) one licensed public accountant licensed under Title 37, chapter 50, who is actively 
engaged in the practice of public accounting and who has held a valid license for at least 5 
years before being appointed. When an appointment in this category is necessary, the Montana 
society of public accountants shall submit to the governor a list of names of two candidates from 
which the appointment may be made. However, the governor is not restricted to the names on 
this list. If there is no licensed public accountant known by the governor to be qualified and 
willing to serve in this position, the governor may appoint a certified public accountant meeting 
the qualifications provided in subsection (2)(a).  
     (c) two members of the general public who are not engaged in the practice of public 
accounting.  
     (3) Each appointment is subject to confirmation by the senate and must be submitted for 
consideration at the next regular session following appointment.  
     (4) The members shall serve staggered 5-year terms. A member may not serve consecutive 
5-year terms on the board. A member is eligible for reappointment to the board after 1 year or 
more has elapsed. The governor may remove a member for neglect of duty or other just cause.  
     (5) The board is allocated to the department for administrative purposes only as prescribed 
in 2-15-121.  

     History: (1) thru (4)En. Sec. 1, Ch. 118, L. 1969; Sec. 66-1813, R.C.M. 1947; amd. and 
redes. 82A-1602.2 by Sec. 161, Ch. 350, L. 1974; Sec. 82A-1602.2, R.C.M. 1947; (5)En. 82A-
1602 by Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 250, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 285, L. 
1973; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 57, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 58, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 84, L. 1974; 
amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 99, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 354, Ch. 350, L. 1974; Sec. 82A-1602, R.C.M. 1947; 
R.C.M. 1947, 82A-1602(part), 82A-1602.2; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 684, L. 1979; MCA 1979, , redes. 
by Sec. 4, Ch. 274, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 382, L. 1989; Sec. , MCA 1999; redes. by Sec. 
221(2), Ch. 483, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 126, L. 2005.  
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 TITLE 37 
CHAPTER 1 
PART 1 - 3 

 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
 

Part 1 -- Duties and Authority of Department,  
Director, and Boards 

 
 

 37-1-101.  Duties of department. 
 37-1-102.  Renumbered 37-1-121. 
 37-1-103.  Renumbered 37-1-131. 
 37-1-104.  Standardized forms. 
 37-1-105.  Reporting disciplinary actions against licensees. 
 37-1-106.  Biennial report. 
 37-1-107.  Joint meetings -- department duties. 
 37-1-108 through 37-1-120 reserved. 
 37-1-121.  Duties of commissioner. 
 37-1-122 through 37-1-129 reserved. 
 37-1-130.  Definitions. 
 37-1-131.  Duties of boards -- quorum required. 
 37-1-132.  Nominees for appointment to licensing and regulatory boards. 
 37-1-133.  Board members' compensation and expenses. 
 37-1-134.  Fees commensurate with costs. 
 37-1-135.  Licensing investigation and review -- record access. 
 37-1-136.  Disciplinary authority of boards -- injunctions. 
 37-1-137.  Grounds for disciplinary action as grounds for license denial -- conditions to 
new licenses. 
 37-1-138.  Protection of professional licenses for activated military reservists -- 
rulemaking authority -- definitions. 
 37-1-139 and 37-1-140 reserved. 
 37-1-141.  License renewal -- lapse -- expiration -- termination. 

 
Part 2 -- Licensure of Criminal Offenders 

 
 

 37-1-201.  Purpose. 
 37-1-202.  Intent and policy. 
 37-1-203.  Conviction not a sole basis for denial. 
 37-1-204.  Statement of reasons for denial. 
 37-1-205.  Licensure on completion of supervision. 

 
Part 3 -- Uniform Professional Licensing  

and Regulation Procedures 
 
 

 37-1-301.  Purpose. 
 37-1-302.  Definitions. 
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 37-1-303.  Scope. 
 37-1-304.  Licensure of out-of-state applicants -- reciprocity. 
 37-1-305.  Temporary practice permits. 
 37-1-306.  Continuing education. 
 37-1-307.  Board authority. 
 37-1-308.  Unprofessional conduct -- complaint -- investigation -- immunity -- 
exceptions. 
 37-1-309.  Notice -- request for hearing. 
 37-1-310.  Hearing -- adjudicative procedures. 
 37-1-311.  Findings of fact -- order -- report. 
 37-1-312.  Sanctions -- stay -- costs -- stipulations. 
 37-1-313.  Appeal. 
 37-1-314.  Reinstatement. 
 37-1-315.  Enforcement of fine. 
 37-1-316.  Unprofessional conduct. 
 37-1-317.  Practice without license -- investigation of complaint -- injunction -- penalties. 
 37-1-318.  Violation of injunction -- penalty. 
 37-1-319.  Rules. 
 37-1-320.  Mental intent -- unprofessional conduct. 
 37-1-321 through 37-1-330 reserved. 
 37-1-331.  Correctional health care review team. 

 
 

 
--------------------  

 
 

Part 1 
 

Duties and Authority of Department, Director, and Boards 
 
 
 37-1-101.  (Temporary) Duties of department. In addition to the provisions of 2-15-
121, the department shall: 
 (1)  establish and provide all the administrative, legal, and clerical services needed by 
the boards within the department, including corresponding, receiving and processing routine 
applications for licenses as defined by a board, issuing and renewing routine licenses as 
defined by a board, disciplining licensees, setting administrative fees, preparing agendas and 
meeting notices, conducting mailings, taking minutes of board meetings and hearings, and filing; 
 (2)  standardize policies and procedures and keep in Helena all official records of the 
boards; 
 (3)  make arrangements and provide facilities in Helena for all meetings, hearings, and 
examinations of each board or elsewhere in the state if requested by the board; 
 (4)  contract for or administer and grade examinations required by each board; 
 (5)  investigate complaints received by the department of illegal or unethical conduct of a 
member of the profession or occupation under the jurisdiction of a board or a program within the 
department; 
 (6)  assess the costs of the department to the boards and programs on an equitable 
basis as determined by the department; 
 (7)  adopt rules setting administrative fees and expiration, renewal, and termination 
dates for licenses; 
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 (8)  issue a notice to and pursue an action against a licensed individual, as a party, 
before the licensed individual's board after a finding of reasonable cause by a screening panel 
of the board pursuant to 37-1-307(1)(d); 
 (9)  (a) provide notice to the board and to the appropriate legislative interim committee 
when a board cannot operate in a cost-effective manner; 
 (b)  suspend all duties under this title related to the board except for services related to 
renewal of licenses; 
 (c)  review the need for a board and make recommendations to the legislative interim 
committee with monitoring responsibility for the boards for legislation revising the board's 
operations to achieve fiscal solvency; and 
 (d)  notwithstanding 2-15-121, recover the costs by one-time charges against all 
licensees of the board after providing notice and meeting the requirements under the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act; 
 (10) monitor a board's cash balances to ensure that the balances do not exceed two 
times the board's annual appropriation level and adjust fees through administrative rules when 
necessary; and 
 (11) establish policies and procedures to set fees for administrative services, as 
provided in 37-1-134, commensurate with the cost of the services provided. Late penalty fees 
may be set without being commensurate with the cost of services provided.  
 
 37-1-101.  (Effective January 1, 2009) Duties of department. In addition to the 
provisions of 2-15-121, the department shall: 
 (1)  establish and provide all the administrative, legal, and clerical services needed by 
the boards within the department, including corresponding, receiving and processing routine 
applications for licenses as defined by a board, issuing and renewing routine licenses as 
defined by a board, disciplining licensees, setting administrative fees, preparing agendas and 
meeting notices, conducting mailings, taking minutes of board meetings and hearings, and filing; 
 (2)  standardize policies and procedures and keep in Helena all official records of the 
boards; 
 (3)  make arrangements and provide facilities in Helena for all meetings, hearings, and 
examinations of each board or elsewhere in the state if requested by the board; 
 (4)  contract for or administer and grade examinations required by each board; 
 (5)  investigate complaints received by the department of illegal or unethical conduct of a 
member of the profession or occupation under the jurisdiction of a board or a program within the 
department; 
 (6)  assess the costs of the department to the boards and programs on an equitable 
basis as determined by the department; 
 (7)  adopt rules setting administrative fees and expiration, renewal, and termination 
dates for licenses; 
 (8)  issue a notice to and pursue an action against a licensed individual, as a party, 
before the licensed individual's board after a finding of reasonable cause by a screening panel 
of the board pursuant to 37-1-307(1)(d); 
 (9)  (a) provide notice to the board and to the appropriate legislative interim committee 
when a board cannot operate in a cost-effective manner; 
 (b)  suspend all duties under this title related to the board except for services related to 
renewal of licenses; 
 (c)  review the need for a board and make recommendations to the legislative interim 
committee with monitoring responsibility for the boards for legislation revising the board's 
operations to achieve fiscal solvency; and 
 (d)  notwithstanding 2-15-121, recover the costs by one-time charges against all 
licensees of the board after providing notice and meeting the requirements under the Montana 
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Administrative Procedure Act; 
 (10) monitor a board's cash balances to ensure that the balances do not exceed two 
times the board's annual appropriation level and adjust fees through administrative rules when 
necessary; 
 (11) establish policies and procedures to set fees for administrative services, as 
provided in 37-1-134, commensurate with the cost of the services provided. Late penalty fees 
may be set without being commensurate with the cost of services provided. 
 (12) adopt uniform rules for all boards and department programs to comply with the 
public notice requirements of 37-1-311 and 37-1-405. The rules may require the posting of only 
the licensee's name and the fact that a hearing is being held when the information is being 
posted on a publicly available website prior to a decision leading to a suspension or revocation 
of a license or other final decision of a board or the department.  
 
 History:  En. 82A-1603 by Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1971; R.C.M. 1947, 82A-1603; amd. Sec. 
1, Ch. 293, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 274, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 390, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 1, 
Ch. 307, L. 1985; amd. Sec. 42, Ch. 83, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 413, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 21, 
Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 106, Ch. 483, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 467, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 
17, Ch. 11, L. 2007; amd. Sec. 39, Ch. 44, L. 2007; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 225, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-102.  Renumbered 37-1-121. Code Commissioner, 1981.  
 
 37-1-103.  Renumbered 37-1-131. Code Commissioner, 1981.  
 
 37-1-104.  Standardized forms. The department shall adopt standardized forms and 
processes to be used by the boards and department programs. The standardization is to 
streamline processes, expedite services, reduce costs and waste, and facilitate 
computerization.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 2, Ch. 293, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  
 
 37-1-105.  Reporting disciplinary actions against licensees. The department has the 
authority and shall require that all boards and department programs require each applicant for 
licensure or renewal to report any legal or disciplinary action against the applicant that relates to 
the propriety of the applicant's practice of or fitness to practice the profession or occupation for 
which the applicant seeks licensure. Failure to furnish the required information, except pursuant 
to 37-1-138, or the filing of false information is grounds for denial or revocation of a license.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 3, Ch. 293, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 271, L. 2003; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 
467, L. 2005.  
 
 37-1-106.  Biennial report. The department, in cooperation with each licensing board, 
shall prepare a biennial report. The biennial report of the department shall contain for each 
board a summary of the board's activities, the board's goals and objectives, a detailed 
breakdown of board revenues and expenditures, statistics illustrating board activities concerning 
licensing, summary of complaints received and their disposition, number of licenses revoked or 
suspended, legislative or court action affecting the board, and any other information the 
department or board considers relevant. The department shall submit the report to the office of 
budget and program planning as a part of the information required by 17-7-111.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 4, Ch. 293, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 125, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 32, 
Ch. 112, L. 1991; amd. Sec. 30, Ch. 349, L. 1993.  
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 37-1-107.  Joint meetings -- department duties. (1) The department shall convene a 
joint meeting once every 2 years of two or more boards that: 
 (a)  have licensees with dual licensure in related professions or occupations; 
 (b)  have licensees licensed by another board in a related profession or with similar 
scopes of practice, including but not limited to: 
 (i)  health care boards; 
 (ii) mental health care boards; 
 (iii) design boards; 
 (iv) therapeutic boards; or 
 (v)  technical boards; or 
 (c)  have issues of joint concern or related jurisdiction with each other. 
 (2)  A quorum is not required for the joint meeting. However, one member from each 
board shall attend. 
 (3)  The department shall report to the interim committee responsible for monitoring 
boards with regard to attendance and issues of concern addressed by the boards.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 11, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-108 through 37-1-120 reserved.  
 
 37-1-121.  Duties of commissioner. In addition to the powers and duties under 2-15-
112 and 2-15-121, the commissioner of labor and industry shall: 
 (1)  at the request of a party, appoint an impartial hearings examiner to conduct hearings 
whenever any board or department program holds a contested case hearing. The hearings 
examiner shall conduct hearings in a proper and legal manner. 
 (2)  establish the qualifications of and hire all personnel to perform the administrative, 
legal, and clerical functions of the department for the boards. Boards within the department do 
not have authority to establish the qualifications of, hire, or terminate personnel. The department 
shall consult with the boards regarding recommendations for qualifications for executive or 
executive director positions. 
 (3)  approve all contracts and expenditures by boards within the department. A board 
within the department may not enter into a contract or expend funds without the approval of the 
commissioner.  
 
 History:  En. 82A-1604 by Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 14, Ch. 533, L. 1977; 
R.C.M. 1947, 82A-1604; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 274, L. 1981; Sec. 37-1-102, MCA 1979; redes. 37-1-
121 by Code Commissioner, 1981; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 165, L. 1985; amd. Sec. 22, Ch. 429, L. 
1995; amd. Sec. 107, Ch. 483, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  
 
 37-1-122 through 37-1-129 reserved.  
 
 37-1-130.  Definitions. As used in this part, the following definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Administrative fee" means a fee established by the department to cover the cost of 
administrative services as provided for in 37-1-134. 
 (2)  "Board" means a licensing board created under Title 2, chapter 15, that regulates a 
profession or occupation and that is administratively attached to the department as provided in 
2-15-121. 
 (3)  "Board fee" means: 
 (a)  a fee established by the board to cover program area costs as provided in 37-1-134; 
and 
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 (b)  any other legislatively prescribed fees specific to boards and department programs. 
 (4)  "Department" means the department of labor and industry established in 2-15-1701. 
 (5)  "Department program" means a program administered by the department pursuant 
to this title and not affiliated with a board. 
 (6)  "Expired license" means a license that is not reactivated within the period of 46 days 
to 2 years after the renewal date for the license. 
 (7)  "Lapsed license" means a license that is not renewed by the renewal date and that 
may be reactivated within the first 45-day period after the renewal date for the license. 
 (8)  "License" means permission granted under a chapter of this title to engage in or 
practice at a specific level in a profession or occupation, regardless of the specific term used for 
the permission, including permit, certificate, recognition, or registration. 
 (9)  "Terminated license" means a license that is not renewed or reactivated within 2 
years of the license lapsing.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 5, Ch. 274, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 108, Ch. 483, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 10, 
Ch. 467, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 502, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-131.  (Temporary) Duties of boards -- quorum required. (1) A quorum of each 
board within the department shall: 
 (a)  set and enforce standards and rules governing the licensing, certification, 
registration, and conduct of the members of the particular profession or occupation within the 
board's jurisdiction; 
 (b)  sit in judgment in hearings for the suspension, revocation, or denial of a license of an 
actual or potential member of the particular profession or occupation within the board's 
jurisdiction. The hearings must be conducted by a hearings examiner when required under 37-
1-121. 
 (c)  suspend, revoke, or deny a license of a person who the board determines, after a 
hearing as provided in subsection (1)(b), is guilty of knowingly defrauding, abusing, or aiding in 
the defrauding or abusing of the workers' compensation system in violation of the provisions of 
Title 39, chapter 71; 
 (d)  pay to the department the board's pro rata share of the assessed costs of the 
department under 37-1-101(6); 
 (e)  consult with the department before the board initiates a program expansion, under 
existing legislation, to determine if the board has adequate money and appropriation authority to 
fully pay all costs associated with the proposed program expansion. The board may not expand 
a program if the board does not have adequate money and appropriation authority available. 
 (2)  A board, board panel, or subcommittee convened to conduct board business must 
have a majority of its members, which constitutes a quorum, present to conduct business. 
 (3)  A board that requires continuing education or continued state, regional, or national 
certification for licensees shall require licensees reactivating an expired license to submit proof 
of meeting the requirements of this subsection for the renewal cycle. 
 (4)  The board or the department program may: 
 (a)  establish the qualifications of applicants to take the licensure examination; 
 (b)  determine the standards, content, type, and method of examination required for 
licensure or reinstatement of a license, the acceptable level of performance for each 
examination, and the standards and limitations for reexamination if an applicant fails an 
examination; 
 (c)  examine applicants for licensure at reasonable places and times as determined by 
the board or enter into contracts with third-party testing agencies to administer examinations; 
and 
 (d)  require continuing education for licensure, as provided in 37-1-306, or require 
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continued state, regional, or national certification for licensure. Except as provided in subsection 
(3), if the board or department requires continuing education or continued state, regional, or 
national certification for continued licensure, the board or department may not audit or require 
proof of continuing education or continued state, regional, or national certification requirements 
as a precondition for renewing the license, certification, or registration. The board or department 
may conduct random audits after the lapsed date of up to 50% of all licensees with renewed 
licenses for documentary verification of the continuing education requirement. 
 (5)  A board may, at the board's discretion, request the applicant to make a personal 
appearance before the board for nonroutine license applications as defined by the board.  
 
 37-1-131.  (Effective January 1, 2009) Duties of boards -- quorum required. (1) A 
quorum of each board within the department shall: 
 (a)  set and enforce standards and rules governing the licensing, certification, 
registration, and conduct of the members of the particular profession or occupation within the 
board's jurisdiction; 
 (b)  sit in judgment in hearings for the suspension, revocation, or denial of a license of an 
actual or potential member of the particular profession or occupation within the board's 
jurisdiction. The hearings must be conducted by a hearings examiner when required under 37-
1-121. 
 (c)  suspend, revoke, or deny a license of a person who the board determines, after a 
hearing as provided in subsection (1)(b), is guilty of knowingly defrauding, abusing, or aiding in 
the defrauding or abusing of the workers' compensation system in violation of the provisions of 
Title 39, chapter 71; 
 (d)  pay to the department the board's pro rata share of the assessed costs of the 
department under 37-1-101(6); 
 (e)  consult with the department before the board initiates a program expansion, under 
existing legislation, to determine if the board has adequate money and appropriation authority to 
fully pay all costs associated with the proposed program expansion. The board may not expand 
a program if the board does not have adequate money and appropriation authority available. 
 (2)  A board, board panel, or subcommittee convened to conduct board business must 
have a majority of its members, which constitutes a quorum, present to conduct business. 
 (3)  A board that requires continuing education or continued state, regional, or national 
certification for licensees shall require licensees reactivating an expired license to submit proof 
of meeting the requirements of this subsection for the renewal cycle. 
 (4)  The board or the department program may: 
 (a)  establish the qualifications of applicants to take the licensure examination; 
 (b)  determine the standards, content, type, and method of examination required for 
licensure or reinstatement of a license, the acceptable level of performance for each 
examination, and the standards and limitations for reexamination if an applicant fails an 
examination; 
 (c)  examine applicants for licensure at reasonable places and times as determined by 
the board or enter into contracts with third-party testing agencies to administer examinations; 
and 
 (d)  require continuing education for licensure, as provided in 37-1-306, or require 
continued state, regional, or national certification for licensure. Except as provided in subsection 
(3), if the board or department requires continuing education or continued state, regional, or 
national certification for continued licensure, the board or department may not audit or require 
proof of continuing education or continued state, regional, or national certification requirements 
as a precondition for renewing the license, certification, or registration. The board or department 
may conduct random audits after the lapsed date of up to 50% of all licensees with renewed 
licenses for documentary verification of the continuing education requirement. 
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 (5)  A board may, at the board's discretion, request the applicant to make a personal 
appearance before the board for nonroutine license applications as defined by the board. 
 (6)  A board shall adopt rules governing the provision of public notice as required by 37-
1-311.  
 
 History:  En. 82A-1605 by Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 250, L. 1973; 
R.C.M. 1947, 82A-1605(1) thru (3); amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 274, L. 1981; Sec. 37-1-103, MCA 1979; 
redes. 37-1-131 by Code Commissioner, 1981; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 165, L. 1985; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 
90, L. 1991; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 619, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 23, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 
492, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 416, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 467, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 
225, L. 2007; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 502, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-132.  Nominees for appointment to licensing and regulatory boards. Private 
associations and members of the public may submit to the governor lists of nominees for 
appointment to professional and occupational licensing and regulatory boards. The governor 
may consider nominees from the lists when making appointments to such boards.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 9, Ch. 244, L. 1981.  
 
 37-1-133.  Board members' compensation and expenses. Unless otherwise provided 
by law, each member of a board allocated to the department is entitled to receive $50 per day 
compensation and travel expenses, as provided for in 2-18-501 through 2-18-503, for each day 
spent on official board business. Board members who conduct official board business in their 
city of residence are entitled to receive a midday meal allowance, as provided for in 2-18-502. 
Ex officio board members may not receive compensation but shall receive travel expenses.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 474, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 123, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 
672, L. 1983.  
 
 37-1-134.  Fees commensurate with costs. Each board allocated to the department 
shall set board fees related to the respective program area that are commensurate with costs 
for licensing, including fees for initial licensing, reciprocity, renewals, applications, inspections, 
and audits. A board may set an examination fee that must be commensurate with costs. A 
board that issues endorsements and licenses specialties shall set respective fees 
commensurate with costs. Unless otherwise provided by law, the department may establish 
standardized fees, including but not limited to fees for administrative services such as license 
verification, duplicate licenses, late penalty renewals, licensee lists, and other administrative 
service fees determined by the department as applicable to all boards and department 
programs. The department shall collect administrative fees on behalf of each board or 
department program and deposit the fees in the state special revenue fund in the appropriate 
account for each board or department program. Administrative service costs not related to a 
specific board or program area may be equitably distributed to board or program areas as 
determined by the department. Each board and department program shall maintain records 
sufficient to support the fees charged for each program area.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 345, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  
 
 37-1-135.  Licensing investigation and review -- record access. Any person, firm, 
corporation, or association that performs background reviews, complaint investigations, or peer 
reviews pursuant to an agreement or contract with a state professional or occupational licensing 
board shall make available to the board and the legislative auditor, upon request, any and all 
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records or other information gathered or compiled during the course of the background review, 
complaint investigation, or peer review.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 242, L. 1981.  
 
 37-1-136.  (Temporary) Disciplinary authority of boards -- injunctions. (1) Subject to 
37-1-138, each licensing board allocated to the department has the authority, in addition to any 
other penalty or disciplinary action provided by law, to adopt rules specifying grounds for 
disciplinary action and rules providing for: 
 (a)  revocation of a license; 
 (b)  suspension of its judgment of revocation on terms and conditions determined by the 
board; 
 (c)  suspension of the right to practice for a period not exceeding 1 year; 
 (d)  placing a licensee on probation; 
 (e)  reprimand or censure of a licensee; or 
 (f)  taking any other action in relation to disciplining a licensee as the board in its 
discretion considers proper. 
 (2)  Any disciplinary action by a board shall be conducted as a contested case hearing 
under the provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act. 
 (3)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a board may maintain an action to enjoin 
a person from engaging in the practice of the occupation or profession regulated by the board 
until a license to practice is procured. A person who has been enjoined and who violates the 
injunction is punishable for contempt of court. 
 (4)  An action may not be taken against a person who is in compliance with Title 50, 
chapter 46.  
 
 37-1-136.  (Effective January 1, 2009) Disciplinary authority of boards -- 
injunctions. (1) Subject to 37-1-138, each licensing board allocated to the department has the 
authority, in addition to any other penalty or disciplinary action provided by law, to adopt rules 
specifying grounds for disciplinary action and rules providing for: 
 (a)  revocation of a license; 
 (b)  suspension of its judgment of revocation on terms and conditions determined by the 
board; 
 (c)  suspension of the right to practice for a period not exceeding 1 year; 
 (d)  placing a licensee on probation; 
 (e)  reprimand or censure of a licensee; or 
 (f)  taking any other action in relation to disciplining a licensee as the board in its 
discretion considers proper. 
 (2)  Any disciplinary action by a board shall be conducted as a contested case hearing 
under the provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act. 
 (3)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a board may maintain an action to enjoin 
a person from engaging in the practice of the occupation or profession regulated by the board 
until a license to practice is procured. A person who has been enjoined and who violates the 
injunction is punishable for contempt of court. 
 (4)  An action may not be taken against a person who is in compliance with Title 50, 
chapter 46. 
 (5)  Rules adopted under subsection (1) must provide for the provision of public notice 
as required by 37-1-311.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 246, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 271, L. 2003; amd. Sec. 10, I.M. 
No. 148, approved Nov. 2, 2004; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 225, L. 2007.  
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 37-1-137.  Grounds for disciplinary action as grounds for license denial -- 
conditions to new licenses. (1) Unless otherwise provided by law, grounds for disciplinary 
action by a board allocated to the department of labor and industry against a holder of an 
occupational or professional license may be, under appropriate circumstances, grounds for 
either issuance of a probationary license for a period not to exceed 1 year or denial of a license 
to an applicant. 
 (2)  The denial of a license or the issuance of a probationary license under subsection 
(1) must be conducted as a contested case hearing under the provisions of the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 273, L. 1985; amd. Sec. 109, Ch. 483, L. 2001.  
 
 37-1-138.  Protection of professional licenses for activated military reservists -- 
rulemaking authority -- definitions. (1) For purposes of this section, the following definitions 
apply: 
 (a)  "Activated reservist" means a member of a reserve component who has received 
federal military orders to report for federal active duty for at least 90 consecutive days. 
 (b)  "License" has the meaning provided in 37-1-302. 
 (c)  "Reserve component" means the Montana national guard or the military reserves of 
the United States armed forces. 
 (2)  An activated reservist who holds an occupational or professional license may report 
the reservist's activation to the appropriate professional licensing board or to the department of 
labor and industry if the licensing requirements are administered by the department. The report 
must, at a minimum, include a copy of the reservist's orders to federal active duty. The report 
may request that the reservist's professional license revert to an inactive status. 
 (3)  If an activated reservist has requested that the reservist's license revert to inactive 
status pursuant to subsection (2), then for the duration of the reservist's active duty service 
under the orders submitted, the department or licensing board may not: 
 (a)  require the collection of professional licensing fees or continuing education fees from 
the activated reservist; 
 (b)  require that the activated reservist take continuing education classes or file a report 
of continuing education classes completed; or 
 (c)  revoke or suspend the activated reservist's professional license, require the license 
to be forfeited, or allow the license to lapse for failure to pay licensing fees or continuing 
education fees or for failure to take or report continuing education classes. 
 (4)  (a) Upon release from federal active duty service, the reservist shall send a copy of 
the reservist's discharge documents to the appropriate professional licensing board or to the 
department. 
 (b)  The board or department shall evaluate the discharge documents, consider the 
military position held by the reservist and the duties performed by the reservist during the active 
duty, and compare the position and duties to the licensing requirements for the profession. The 
board or department shall also consider the reservist's length of time on federal active duty. 
 (c)  Based on the considerations pursuant to subsection (4)(b) and subject to subsection 
(5): 
 (i)  the license must be fully restored; 
 (ii) conditions must be attached to the reservist's continued retention of the license; or 
 (iii) the license must be suspended or revoked. 
 (5)  (a) A licensing board or the department may adopt rules concerning what conditions 
may be attached to a reservist's professional license pursuant to subsection (4)(c)(ii). 
 (b)  If conditions are attached pursuant to subsection (4)(c)(ii) or the license is 
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suspended or revoked pursuant to subsection (4)(c)(iii), the affected reservist may, within 90 
days of the decision to take the action, request a hearing by writing a letter to the board or 
department. The board or department shall conduct a requested hearing within 30 days of 
receiving the written request.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 2, Ch. 271, L. 2003.  
 
 37-1-139 and 37-1-140 reserved.  
 
 37-1-141.  License renewal -- lapse -- expiration -- termination. (1) The renewal date 
for a license must be set by department rule. The department shall provide notice prior to the 
renewal date. 
 (2)  To renew a license, a licensee shall submit a completed renewal form, comply with 
all certification and continuing education requirements, and remit renewal fees before the end of 
the renewal period. 
 (3)  A licensee may reactivate a lapsed license within 45 days after the renewal date by 
following the process in subsection (5) and complying with all certification and educational 
requirements. 
 (4)  A licensee may reactivate an expired license within 2 years after the renewal date by 
following the process in subsection (5) and complying with all certification and education 
requirements that have accrued since the license was last granted or renewed as prescribed by 
board or department rule. 
 (5)  To reactivate a lapsed license or an expired license, in addition to the respective 
requirements in subsections (3) and (4), a licensee shall: 
 (a)  submit the completed renewal form; 
 (b)  pay the late penalty fee provided for in subsection (7); and 
 (c)  pay the current renewal fee as prescribed by the department or the board. 
 (6)  (a) A licensee who practices with a lapsed license is not considered to be practicing 
without a license. 
 (b)  A licensee who practices after a license has expired is considered to be practicing 
without a license. 
 (7)  The department may assess a late penalty fee for each renewal period in which a 
license is not renewed. The late penalty fee need not be commensurate with the costs of 
assessing the fee. 
 (8)  Unless otherwise provided by statute or rule, an occupational or professional license 
that is not renewed within 2 years of the most recent renewal date automatically terminates. The 
terminated license may not be reactivated, and a new original license must be obtained. 
 (9)  The department or board responsible for licensing a licensee retains jurisdiction for 
disciplinary purposes over the licensee for a period of 2 years after the date on which the 
license lapsed. 
 (10) This section may not be interpreted to conflict with 37-1-138.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 272, L. 1985; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  

 
Part 2 

 
Licensure of Criminal Offenders 

 
 
 37-1-201.  Purpose. It is the public policy of the legislature of the state of Montana to 
encourage and contribute to the rehabilitation of criminal offenders and to assist them in the 
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assumption of the responsibilities of citizenship. The legislature finds that the public is best 
protected when offenders are given the opportunity to secure employment or to engage in a 
meaningful occupation, while licensure must be conferred with prudence to protect the interests 
of the public. The legislature finds that the process of licensure will be strengthened by 
instituting an effective mechanism for obtaining accurate public information regarding a license 
applicant's criminal background.  
 
 History:  En. 66-4001 by Sec. 1, Ch. 490, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 66-4001; amd. Sec. 1, 
Ch. 389, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-202.  Intent and policy. It is the intent of the legislature and the declared policy of 
the state that occupational licensure be granted or revoked as a police power of the state in its 
protection of the public health, safety, and welfare.  
 
 History:  En. 66-4002 by Sec. 2, Ch. 490, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 66-4002.  
 
 37-1-203.  Conviction not a sole basis for denial. Criminal convictions shall not 
operate as an automatic bar to being licensed to enter any occupation in the state of Montana.  
No licensing authority shall refuse to license a person solely on the basis of a previous criminal 
conviction; provided, however, where a license applicant has been convicted of a criminal 
offense and such criminal offense relates to the public health, welfare, and safety as it applies to 
the occupation for which the license is sought, the licensing agency may, after investigation, find 
that the applicant so convicted has not been sufficiently rehabilitated as to warrant the public 
trust and deny the issuance of a license.  
 
 History:  En. 66-4003 by Sec. 3, Ch. 490, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 66-4003.  
 
 37-1-204.  Statement of reasons for denial. When a licensing agency prohibits an 
applicant from being licensed wholly or partially on the basis of a criminal conviction, the agency 
shall state explicitly in writing the reasons for the decision.  
 
 History:  En. 66-4004 by Sec. 4, Ch. 490, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 66-4004.  
 
 37-1-205.  Licensure on completion of supervision. Completion of probation or parole 
supervision without any subsequent criminal conviction shall be evidence of rehabilitation; 
provided, however, that the facts surrounding the situation that led to the probation or parole 
supervision may be considered as they relate to the occupation for which a license is sought 
and provided that nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit licensure of a person while he is 
under state supervision if the licensing agency finds insufficient evidence to preclude such 
licensure.  
 
 History:  En. 66-4005 by Sec. 5, Ch. 490, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 66-4005.  

 
 

Part 3 
 

Uniform Professional Licensing and Regulation Procedures 
 
 
 37-1-301.  Purpose. The purpose of this part is to establish uniform guidelines for the 
licensing and regulation of professions and occupations under the jurisdiction of professional 
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and occupational licensing boards governed by this part.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-302.  Definitions. As used in this part, the following definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Board" means a licensing board created under Title 2, chapter 15, that regulates a 
profession or occupation and that is administratively attached to the department as provided in 
2-15-121. 
 (2)  "Complaint" means a written allegation filed with a board that, if true, warrants an 
injunction, disciplinary action against a licensee, or denial of an application submitted by a 
license applicant. 
 (3)  "Department" means the department of labor and industry. 
 (4)  "Inspection" means the periodic examination of premises, equipment, or procedures 
or of a practitioner by the department to determine whether the practitioner's profession or 
occupation is being conducted in a manner consistent with the public health, safety, and 
welfare. 
 (5)  "Investigation" means the inquiry, analysis, audit, or other pursuit of information by 
the department, with respect to a written complaint or other information before a board, that is 
carried out for the purpose of determining: 
 (a)  whether a person has violated a provision of law justifying discipline against the 
person; 
 (b)  the status of compliance with a stipulation or order of the board; 
 (c)  whether a license should be granted, denied, or conditionally issued; or 
 (d)  whether a board should seek an injunction. 
 (6)  "License" means permission granted under a chapter of this title to engage in or 
practice at a specific level in a profession or occupation, regardless of the specific term used for 
the permission, including permit, certificate, recognition, or registration. 
 (7)  "Profession" or "occupation" means a profession or occupation regulated by a board.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 2, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 110, Ch. 483, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 14, 
Ch. 467, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 502, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-303.  Scope. This part governs the licensure, the practice and unauthorized 
practice, and the discipline of professions and occupations governed by this title unless 
otherwise provided by statutes relating to a specific board and the profession or occupation it 
regulates. The provisions of this chapter must be construed to supplement the statutes relating 
to a specific board and the profession it regulates. The method for initiating and judging a 
disciplinary proceeding, specified in 37-1-307(1)(d), must be used by a board in all disciplinary 
proceedings involving licensed professionals.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 3, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 40, Ch. 44, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-304.  Licensure of out-of-state applicants -- reciprocity. (1) A board may issue 
a license to practice without examination to a person licensed in another state if the board 
determines that: 
 (a) the other state's license standards at the time of application to this state are 
substantially equivalent to or greater than the standards in this state; and 
 (b)  there is no reason to deny the license under the laws of this state governing the 
profession or occupation. 
 (2)  The license may not be issued until the board receives verification from the state or 
states in which the person is licensed that the person is currently licensed and is not subject to 
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pending charges or final disciplinary action for unprofessional conduct or impairment. 
 (3)  This section does not prevent a board from entering into a reciprocity agreement 
with the licensing authority of another state or jurisdiction. The agreement may not permit out-of-
state licensees to obtain a license by reciprocity within this state if the license applicant has not 
met standards that are substantially equivalent to or greater than the standards required in this 
state as determined by the board on a case-by-case basis.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 4, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 210, L. 1997.  
 
 37-1-305.  Temporary practice permits. (1) A board may issue a temporary practice 
permit to a person licensed in another state that has licensing standards substantially equivalent 
to those of this state if the board determines that there is no reason to deny the license under 
the laws of this state governing the profession or occupation. The person may practice under 
the permit until a license is granted or until a notice of proposal to deny a license is issued. The 
permit may not be issued until the board receives verification from the state or states in which 
the person is licensed that the person is currently licensed and is not subject to pending charges 
or final disciplinary action for unprofessional conduct or impairment. 
 (2)  A board may issue a temporary practice permit to a person seeking licensure in this 
state who has met all licensure requirements other than passage of the licensing examination. 
Except as provided in 37-68-311 and 37-69-306, a permit is valid until the person either fails the 
first license examination for which the person is eligible following issuance of the permit or 
passes the examination and is granted a license.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 5, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 203, L. 1999.  
 
 37-1-306.  Continuing education. A board or, for programs without a board, the 
department may require licensees to participate in flexible, cost-efficient, effective, and 
geographically accessible continuing education.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 6, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 15, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  
 37-1-307.  Board authority. (1) A board may: 
 (a)  hold hearings as provided in this part; 
 (b)  issue subpoenas requiring the attendance of witnesses or the production of 
documents and administer oaths in connection with investigations and disciplinary proceedings 
under this part. Subpoenas must be relevant to the complaint and must be signed by a member 
of the board. Subpoenas may be enforced as provided in 2-4-104. 
 (c)  authorize depositions and other discovery procedures under the Montana Rules of 
Civil Procedure in connection with an investigation, hearing, or proceeding held under this part; 
 (d)  establish a screening panel to determine whether there is reasonable cause to 
believe that a licensee has violated a particular statute, rule, or standard justifying disciplinary 
proceedings. A screening panel shall specify in writing the particular statute, rule, or standard 
that the panel believes may have been violated. The screening panel shall also state in writing 
the reasonable grounds that support the panel's finding that a violation may have occurred. The 
assigned board members may not subsequently participate in a hearing of the case. The final 
decision on the case must be made by a majority of the board members who did not serve on 
the screening panel for the case. 
 (e)  grant or deny a license and, upon a finding of unprofessional conduct by an 
applicant or license holder, impose a sanction provided by this chapter. 
 (2)  Each board is designated as a criminal justice agency within the meaning of 44-5-
103 for the purpose of obtaining confidential criminal justice information, as defined in 44-5-103, 
regarding the board's licensees and license applicants and regarding possible unlicensed 
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practice, but the board may not record or retain any confidential criminal justice information 
without complying with the provisions of the Montana Criminal Justice Information Act of 1979, 
Title 44, chapter 5. 
 (3)  A board may contact and request information from the department of justice, which 
is designated as a criminal justice agency within the meaning of 44-5-103, for the purpose of 
obtaining criminal history record information regarding the board's licensees and license 
applicants and regarding possible unlicensed practice. 
 (4)  (a) A board that is statutorily authorized to obtain a criminal background check as a 
prerequisite to the issuance of a license shall require the applicant to submit fingerprints for the 
purpose of fingerprint checks by the Montana department of justice and the federal bureau of 
investigation. 
 (b)  The applicant shall sign a release of information to the board and is responsible to 
the department of justice for the payment of all fees associated with the criminal background 
check. 
 (c)  Upon completion of the criminal background check, the department of justice shall 
forward all criminal history record information, as defined in 44-5-103, in any jurisdiction to the 
board as authorized in 44-5-303. 
 (d)  At the conclusion of any background check required by this section, the board must 
receive the criminal background check report but may not receive the fingerprint card of the 
applicant. Upon receipt of the criminal background check report, the department of justice shall 
promptly destroy the fingerprint card of the applicant. 
 [(5)  Each board shall require a license applicant to provide the applicant's social security 
number as a part of the application. Each board shall keep the social security number from this 
source confidential, except that a board may provide the number to the department of public 
health and human services for use in administering Title IV-D of the Social Security Act.] 
(Bracketed language terminates on occurrence of contingency--sec. 1, Ch. 27, L. 1999.)  
 History:  En. Sec. 7, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 22, Ch. 552, L. 1997; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 
230, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 492, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 16, Ch. 467, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 
389, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-308.  Unprofessional conduct -- complaint -- investigation -- immunity -- 
exceptions. (1) Except as provided in subsections (4) and (5), a person, government, or private 
entity may submit a written complaint to the department charging a licensee or license applicant 
with a violation of this part and specifying the grounds for the complaint. 
 (2)  If the department receives a written complaint or otherwise obtains information that a 
licensee or license applicant may have committed a violation of this part, the department may, 
with the concurrence of a member of the screening panel established in 37-1-307, investigate to 
determine whether there is reasonable cause to believe that the licensee or license applicant 
has committed the violation. 
 (3)  A person or private entity, but not a government entity, filing a complaint under this 
section in good faith is immune from suit in a civil action related to the filing or contents of the 
complaint. 
 (4)  A person under legal custody of a county detention center or incarcerated under 
legal custody of the department of corrections may not file a complaint under subsection (1) 
against a licensed or certified provider of health care or rehabilitative services for services that 
were provided to the person while detained or confined in a county detention center or 
incarcerated under legal custody of the department of corrections unless the complaint is first 
reviewed by a correctional health care review team provided for in 37-1-331. 
 (5)  A board member may file a complaint with the board on which the member serves or 
otherwise act in concert with a complainant in developing, authoring, or initiating a complaint to 
be filed with the board if the board member determines that there are reasonable grounds to 
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believe that a particular statute, rule, or standard has been violated.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 8, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 475, L. 1997; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 
375, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 492, L. 2001.  
 
 37-1-309.  Notice -- request for hearing. (1) If a reasonable cause determination is 
made pursuant to 37-1-307 that a violation of this part has occurred, a notice must be prepared 
by department legal staff and served on the alleged violator. The notice may be served by 
certified mail to the current address on file with the board or by other means authorized by the 
Montana Rules of Civil Procedure. The notice may not allege a violation of a particular statute, 
rule, or standard unless the board or the board's screening panel, if one has been established, 
has made a written determination that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the 
particular statute, rule, or standard has been violated. 
 (2)  A licensee or license applicant shall give the board the licensee's or applicant's 
current address and any change of address within 30 days of the change. 
 (3)  The notice must state that the licensee or license applicant may request a hearing to 
contest the charge or charges. A request for a hearing must be in writing and received in the 
offices of the department within 20 days after the licensee's receipt of the notice. Failure to 
request a hearing constitutes a default on the charge or charges, and the board may enter a 
decision on the basis of the facts available to it.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 9, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 492, L. 2001.  
 
 37-1-310.  Hearing -- adjudicative procedures. The procedures in Title 2, chapter 4, 
governing adjudicative proceedings before agencies; the Montana Rules of Civil Procedure; and 
the Montana Rules of Evidence govern a hearing under this part. A board has all the powers 
and duties granted by Title 2, chapter 4.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 10, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-311.  (Temporary) Findings of fact -- order -- report. (1) If the board decides by 
a preponderance of the evidence, following a hearing or on default, that a violation of this part 
occurred, the department shall prepare and serve the board's findings of fact and an order as 
provided in Title 2, chapter 4. If the licensee or license applicant is found not to have violated 
this part, the department shall prepare and serve the board's findings of fact and an order of 
dismissal of the charges. 
 (2)  The department may report the issuance of a notice and final order to: 
 (a)  the person or entity who brought to the department's attention information that 
resulted in the initiation of the proceeding; 
 (b)  appropriate public and private organizations that serve the profession or occupation; 
and 
 (c)  the public.  
 
 37-1-311.  (Effective January 1, 2009) Findings of fact -- order -- report. (1) If the 
board decides by a preponderance of the evidence, following a hearing or on default, that a 
violation of this part occurred, the department shall prepare and serve the board's findings of 
fact and an order as provided in Title 2, chapter 4. If the licensee or license applicant is found 
not to have violated this part, the department shall prepare and serve the board's findings of fact 
and an order of dismissal of the charges. 
 (2)  (a) The department shall within a reasonable amount of time report to the public the 
issuance of a summary suspension, a notice under 37-1-309, an accepted stipulation, a hearing 
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examiner's proposed decision, and a final order. 
 (b)  In addition to any other means of notice, the department shall post the required 
information on a publicly available website. 
 (c)  This subsection (2) may not be construed to require a meeting to be open or records 
to be disseminated when the demands of individual privacy clearly exceed the merits of public 
disclosure.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 11, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 225, L. 2007.  
 
 37-1-312.  Sanctions -- stay -- costs -- stipulations. (1) Upon a decision that a 
licensee or license applicant has violated this part or is unable to practice with reasonable skill 
and safety due to a physical or mental condition or upon stipulation of the parties as provided in 
subsection (3), the board may issue an order providing for one or any combination of the 
following sanctions: 
 (a)  revocation of the license; 
 (b)  suspension of the license for a fixed or indefinite term; 
 (c)  restriction or limitation of the practice; 
 (d)  satisfactory completion of a specific program of remedial education or treatment; 
 (e)  monitoring of the practice by a supervisor approved by the disciplining authority; 
 (f)  censure or reprimand, either public or private; 
 (g)  compliance with conditions of probation for a designated period of time; 
 (h)  payment of a fine not to exceed $1,000 for each violation. Fines must be deposited 
in the state general fund. 
 (i)  denial of a license application; 
 (j)  refund of costs and fees billed to and collected from a consumer. 
 (2)  A sanction may be totally or partly stayed by the board. To determine which 
sanctions are appropriate, the board shall first consider the sanctions that are necessary to 
protect or compensate the public. Only after the determination has been made may the board 
consider and include in the order any requirements designed to rehabilitate the licensee or 
license applicant. 
 (3)  The licensee or license applicant may enter into a stipulated agreement resolving 
potential or pending charges that includes one or more of the sanctions in this section. The 
stipulation is an informal disposition for the purposes of 2-4-603. 
 (4)  A licensee shall surrender a suspended or revoked license to the board within 24 
hours after receiving notification of the suspension or revocation by mailing it or delivering it 
personally to the board.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 12, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-313.  Appeal. A person who is disciplined or denied a license may appeal the 
decision to the district court as provided in Title 2, chapter 4.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 13, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-314.  Reinstatement. A licensee whose license has been suspended or revoked 
under this part may petition the board for reinstatement after an interval set by the board in the 
order. The board may hold a hearing on the petition and may deny the petition or order 
reinstatement and impose terms and conditions as provided in 37-1-312. The board may require 
the successful completion of an examination as a condition of reinstatement and may treat a 
licensee whose license has been revoked or suspended as a new applicant for purposes of 
establishing the requisite qualifications of licensure.  
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 History:  En. Sec. 14, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-315.  Enforcement of fine. (1) If payment of a fine is included in an order and 
timely payment is not made as directed in the order, the board may enforce the order for 
payment in the district court of the first judicial district. 
 (2)  In a proceeding for enforcement of an order of payment of a fine, the order is 
conclusive proof of the validity of the order of payment and the terms of payment.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 15, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-316.  Unprofessional conduct. The following is unprofessional conduct for a 
licensee or license applicant governed by this chapter: 
 (1)  conviction, including conviction following a plea of nolo contendere, of a crime 
relating to or committed during the course of the person's practice or involving violence, use or 
sale of drugs, fraud, deceit, or theft, whether or not an appeal is pending; 
 (2)  permitting, aiding, abetting, or conspiring with a person to violate or circumvent a law 
relating to licensure or certification; 
 (3)  fraud, misrepresentation, deception, or concealment of a material fact in applying for 
or assisting in securing a license or license renewal or in taking an examination required for 
licensure; 
 (4)  signing or issuing, in the licensee's professional capacity, a document or statement 
that the licensee knows or reasonably ought to know contains a false or misleading statement; 
 (5)  a misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in 
the conduct of the profession or occupation; 
 (6)  offering, giving, or promising anything of value or benefit to a federal, state, or local 
government employee or official for the purpose of influencing the employee or official to 
circumvent a federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance governing the licensee's profession 
or occupation; 
 (7)  denial, suspension, revocation, probation, fine, or other license restriction or 
discipline against a licensee by a state, province, territory, or Indian tribal government or the 
federal government if the action is not on appeal, under judicial review, or has been satisfied. 
 (8)  failure to comply with a term, condition, or limitation of a license by final order of a 
board; 
 (9)  revealing confidential information obtained as the result of a professional relationship 
without the prior consent of the recipient of services, except as authorized or required by law; 
 (10) addiction to or dependency on a habit-forming drug or controlled substance as 
defined in Title 50, chapter 32, as a result of illegal use of the drug or controlled substance; 
 (11) use of a habit-forming drug or controlled substance as defined in Title 50, chapter 
32, to the extent that the use impairs the user physically or mentally; 
 (12) having a physical or mental disability that renders the licensee or license applicant 
unable to practice the profession or occupation with reasonable skill and safety; 
 (13) engaging in conduct in the course of one's practice while suffering from a 
contagious or infectious disease involving serious risk to public health or without taking 
adequate precautions, including but not limited to informed consent, protective gear, or 
cessation of practice; 
 (14) misappropriating property or funds from a client or workplace or failing to comply 
with a board rule regarding the accounting and distribution of a client's property or funds; 
 (15) interference with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful 
misrepresentation of facts, by the use of threats or harassment against or inducement to a client 
or witness to prevent them from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal 
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action, or by use of threats or harassment against or inducement to a person to prevent or 
attempt to prevent a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or 
completed; 
 (16) assisting in the unlicensed practice of a profession or occupation or allowing 
another person or organization to practice or offer to practice by use of the licensee's license; 
 (17) failing to report the institution of or final action on a malpractice action, including a 
final decision on appeal, against the licensee or of an action against the licensee by a: 
 (a)  peer review committee; 
 (b)  professional association; or 
 (c)  local, state, federal, territorial, provincial, or Indian tribal government; 
 (18) conduct that does not meet the generally accepted standards of practice. A certified 
copy of a malpractice judgment against the licensee or license applicant or of a tort judgment in 
an action involving an act or omission occurring during the scope and course of the practice is 
conclusive evidence of but is not needed to prove conduct that does not meet generally 
accepted standards.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 16, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-317.  Practice without license -- investigation of complaint -- injunction -- 
penalties. (1) The department shall investigate complaints or other information received 
concerning practice by an unlicensed person of a profession or occupation for which a license is 
required by this title. 
 (2)  (a) Unless otherwise provided by statute, a board may file an action to enjoin a 
person from practicing, without a license, a profession or occupation for which a license is 
required by this title. In addition to the penalty provided for in 37-1-318, a person violating an 
injunction issued pursuant to this section may be held in contempt of court. 
 (b)  A person subject to an injunction for practicing without a license may also be subject 
to criminal prosecution. In a complaint for an injunction or in an affidavit, information, or 
indictment alleging that a person has engaged in unlicensed practice, it is sufficient to charge 
that the person engaged in the unlicensed practice of a licensed profession or occupation on a 
certain day in a certain county without averring further or more particular facts concerning the 
violation. 
 (3)  Unless otherwise provided by statute, a person practicing a licensed profession or 
occupation in this state without complying with the licensing provisions of this title is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $250 or more than $1,000, imprisonment in 
the county jail for not less than 90 days or more than 1 year, or both. Each violation of the 
provisions of this chapter constitutes a separate offense. 
 (4)  The department may issue a citation to and collect a fine, as provided in 37-68-316 
and 37-69-310, from a person at a job site who is performing plumbing or electrical work and 
who fails to display a license or proof of licensure at the request of an employee of the 
department who bears responsibility for compliance with licensure requirements.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 17, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 230, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 
402, L. 1999.  
 
 37-1-318.  Violation of injunction -- penalty. A person who violates an injunction 
issued under 37-1-317 shall pay a civil penalty, as determined by the court, of not more than 
$5,000. Fifty percent of the penalty must be deposited in the general fund of the county in which 
the injunction is issued, and 50% must be deposited in the state general fund.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 18, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
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 37-1-319.  Rules. A board may adopt rules: 
 (1)  under the guidelines of 37-1-306, regarding continuing education and establishing 
the number of hours required each year, the methods of obtaining education, education topics, 
and carrying over hours to subsequent years; 
 (2)  regarding practice limitations for temporary practice permits issued under 37-1-305 
and designed to ensure adequate supervision of the practice until all qualifications for licensure 
are met and a license is granted; 
 (3)  regarding qualifications for inactive license status that may require compliance with 
stated continuing education requirements and may limit the number of years a person may 
remain on inactive status without having to reestablish qualifications for licensure; 
 (4)  regarding maintenance and safeguarding of client funds or property possessed by a 
licensee and requiring the funds or property to be maintained separately from the licensee's 
funds and property; and 
 (5)  defining acts of unprofessional conduct, in addition to those contained in 37-1-316, 
that constitute a threat to public health, safety, or welfare and that are inappropriate to the 
practice of the profession or occupation.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 19, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 37-1-320.  Mental intent -- unprofessional conduct. A licensee may be found to have 
violated a provision of 37-1-316 or a rule of professional conduct enacted by a governing board 
without proof that the licensee acted purposefully, knowingly, or negligently.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 7, Ch. 492, L. 2001.  
 
 37-1-321 through 37-1-330 reserved.  
 
 37-1-331.  Correctional health care review team. (1) There is a correctional health 
care review team process in the department. The purpose of a review team is to review 
complaints filed by an inmate against a licensed or certified provider of health care or 
rehabilitative services for services that were provided to the person while the person was 
detained or confined in a county detention center or incarcerated under legal custody of the 
department of corrections. The inmate may file a complaint directly with the correctional health 
care review team for review or, if a board receives a complaint that has not been reviewed, the 
board shall forward the complaint to the review team. If the review team has reason to believe 
that there has been a violation of this part arising out of health care or rehabilitative services 
provided to a person detained or confined in a county detention center, the review team shall 
report the possible violation to the department for appropriate action under 37-1-308. 
 (2)  Each health care licensing board shall solicit and submit to the department a list of 
licensed or certified health care or rehabilitative service professionals who have correctional 
health care experience and who are interested in participating on a team. A current board 
member may not participate on a review team. The department shall solicit from the 
administrators of the county detention centers and from the department of corrections names of 
licensed or certified health care or rehabilitative service providers who have correctional health 
care or rehabilitative services experience and are interested in participating on a review team. 
Each member of a review team must have at least 2 years of experience in providing health 
care or rehabilitative services in a correctional facility or program. 
 (3)  Each correctional health care review team is composed of three members who shall 
represent health care and rehabilitative service providers who have provided health care or 
rehabilitative services to incarcerated persons. Two members of the review team must be 
providers of the same discipline and scope of practice as the provider against whom a complaint 
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was filed, and the third member may be a provider of any other health care or rehabilitative 
services discipline. The members must be willing to serve without compensation. If available, a 
correctional health care professional employed by the department of corrections and appointed 
by the director of the department of corrections may participate on the review team, except 
when the provider against whom the complaint was filed was employed by the department of 
corrections. 
 (4)  The members of a review team are appointed by the department from the listing of 
health care and rehabilitative service providers with correctional experience who have been 
submitted by each respective board, a county detention center administrator, or the department 
of corrections as provided in subsection (2). A review team shall meet at least twice a year. Any 
travel, lodging, meal, or miscellaneous costs incurred by a review team may be recovered 
through a memorandum of understanding with the agencies who provide medical services to 
inmates or may be assessed to the licensing or certifying boards of health care and 
rehabilitative service providers. 
 (5)  The review team shall review each complaint with regard to the health care or 
rehabilitative services provider's scope of practice. A decision on whether or not to forward the 
complaint must be made by the majority of the review team. The review team shall submit a 
written response regarding the decision to the inmate, the county detention center administrator 
or the department of corrections, and the health care or rehabilitative services provider. If the 
decision is to not forward the complaint for action under 37-1-308, a record of the complaint may 
not be forwarded to any licensing or certifying board, but must be retained by the department.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 2, Ch. 375, L. 1999. 
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 37-50-303.  Public accountants -- licensure -- qualifications and requirements. 
 37-50-304.  Public accountants -- licensure without examination of former military 
personnel -- examination otherwise required. 
 37-50-305.  Education requirements. 
 37-50-306.  Repealed. 
 37-50-307.  Repealed. 
 37-50-308.  Repealed. 
 37-50-309.  Credit for examinations taken in other jurisdictions. 
 37-50-310.  Existing certificates sufficient. 
 37-50-311.  Certified public accountants -- waiver of examination for holders of foreign 
or out-of-state licenses, certificates, permits, or degrees. 
 37-50-312.  Public accountants -- waiver of examination for holders of out-of-state 
license. 
 37-50-313.  Recognition of credentials of foreign accountants -- restriction on title used -
- practice. 
 37-50-314.  Permit required -- display. 
 37-50-315.  Deposit of moneys collected. 
 37-50-316.  Other license fees prohibited. 
 37-50-317.  Repealed. 
 37-50-318 through 37-50-320 reserved. 
 37-50-321.  Repealed. 
 37-50-322.  Repealed. 
 37-50-323.  Special practice permit for nonresident certified public accountant -- rules. 
 37-50-324.  Nonresident registration. 
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 37-50-325 through 37-50-329 reserved. 
 37-50-330.  Corporations and partnerships -- registration -- compliance with ownership 
requirements. 
 37-50-331.  Repealed. 
 37-50-332.  Repealed. 
 37-50-333.  Repealed. 
 37-50-334.  Repealed. 
 37-50-335.  Registration of offices. 
 37-50-336.  Repealed. 
 37-50-337 through 37-50-340 reserved. 
 37-50-341.  Initiation of proceedings -- hearings and rulemaking. 
 37-50-342.  Violation. 

 
Part 4 -- Miscellaneous Provisions 

 
 

 37-50-401.  False statements by accountants -- misdemeanor -- penalty. 
 37-50-402.  Privileged communications -- exceptions. 
 37-50-403.  Nonliability -- evidential privilege -- application to nonprofit corporations. 

 
--------------------  

 
 
Chapter Cross-References 
 Licensed public accountant -- exemption from regulation of escrow business, 32-7-103. 
 Professional service corporations, Title 35, ch. 4.  

 
 

Part 1 
 

General 
 
 
 37-50-101.  Definitions. Unless the context requires otherwise, in this chapter, the 
following definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Board" means the board of public accountants provided for in 2-15-1756. 
 (2)  "Department" means the department of labor and industry provided for in Title 2, 
chapter 15, part 17. 
 (3)  "Practice of public accounting" means performing or offering to perform by a person 
certified under 37-50-302 or licensed under 37-50-303, for a client or potential client, one or 
more types of services involving the use of accounting or auditing skills, including: 
 (a)  the issuance of reports or financial statements on which the public may rely; 
 (b)  one or more types of management advisory or consulting services; 
 (c)  the preparation of tax returns; or 
 (d)  furnishing advice on tax matters.  
 
 History:  En. 66-1807.1 by Sec. 160, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1807.1; amd. 
Sec. 3, Ch. 274, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 382, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 143, Ch. 483, L. 2001.  
 
 37-50-102.  Exemptions. This chapter does not prohibit any person who is not a 
certified public accountant or licensed public accountant from serving as an employee of or an 
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assistant to a certified public accountant or a licensed public accountant holding a permit to 
practice under 37-50-314, a partnership or corporation composed of certified public accountants 
or licensed public accountants registered under this chapter, or a foreign accountant whose 
credentials have been recognized under 37-50-313. However, the employee or assistant may 
not issue any accounting or financial statement in the employee's or assistant's name.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 27, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1839; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 684, 
L. 1979; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 375, L. 2003.  

 
 

Part 2 
 

Board of Public Accountants 
 
 
Part Cross-References 
 Right to know, Art. II, sec. 9, Mont. Const. 
 Seal defined, 1-4-201. 
 Adoption and publication of rules, Title 2, ch. 4, part 3. 
 Public records, Title 2, ch. 6. 
 Allocation of boards for administrative purposes, 2-15-121. 
 Quasi-judicial boards, 2-15-124. 
 Board established, 2-15-1756. 
 Entries in official books and records prima facie evidence, 26-1-605. 
 Entry made by officer or Board prima facie evidence, 26-1-606. 
 Requirement of authentication or identification, Rule 901, M.R.Ev. (see Title 26, ch. 10). 
 Self-authentication, Rule 902, M.R.Ev. (see Title 26, ch. 10). 
 Public records, Rule 1005, M.R.Ev. (see Title 26, ch. 10). 
 Duties of Department, Director, and boards, Title 37, ch. 1, part 1. 
 Duty of Board to adopt rules on conduct, 37-1-131.  
 
 37-50-201.  Organization -- general rulemaking power -- seal -- records. (1) The 
board shall elect annually a presiding officer and a secretary from its members. 
 (2)  The board may adopt rules for the conduct of its affairs and the administration of this 
chapter. 
 (3)  The board must have a seal that must be judicially noticed. 
 (4)  The department shall keep records of the board's proceedings. In a proceeding in 
court, civil or criminal, arising out of or founded on this chapter, copies of these records certified 
as correct under the seal of the board are admissible in evidence as tending to prove the 
content of these records.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 3, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 162, Ch. 350, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 
35, Ch. 439, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1815(1) thru (5); amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. 
Sec. 2, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 33, Ch. 492, L. 2001.  
 
 37-50-202.  Compensation of members -- expenses. Each member of the board is 
entitled to receive compensation and travel expenses as provided for in 37-1-133.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 3, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 162, Ch. 350, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 
35, Ch. 439, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1815(6); amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 28, 
Ch. 474, L. 1981.  
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 37-50-203.  Rules of the board. (1) The board may adopt rules, consistent with the 
purposes of this chapter, as it considers necessary. 
 (2)  The board shall adopt: 
 (a)  rules of professional conduct appropriate to establish and maintain a high standard 
of integrity, dignity, and competency in the profession of public accounting, including 
competency in specific fields of public accounting; 
 (b)  rules of procedure governing the conduct of matters before the board; 
 (c)  rules governing education requirements, as provided in 37-50-305, for issuance of 
the certificate of a certified public accountant and the license for licensed public accountant; 
 (d)  rules defining requirements for accounting experience, not exceeding 2 years, for 
issuance of the initial permit; and 
 (e)  rules to enforce the provisions of this chapter. The purpose of the rules must be to 
provide for the monitoring of the profession of public accounting and to maintain the quality of 
the accounting profession. 
 (3)  The board may adopt rules: 
 (a)  governing partnerships, corporations, and other types of entities practicing public 
accounting, including but not limited to rules concerning style, name, title, and affiliation with 
other organizations; 
 (b)  (i) establishing reasonable standards with respect to professional liability insurance 
and unimpaired capital; and 
 (ii) prescribing joint and several liability for torts relating to professional services for 
shareholders of a corporation or owners of other types of entities that fail to comply with 
standards established pursuant to subsection (3)(b)(i); and 
 (c)  establishing education and experience qualifications for out-of-state and foreign 
accountants seeking authorization to practice in Montana.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 5, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 164, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 
66-1817; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 101, Ch. 
429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 42, Ch. 492, L. 1997; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 375, L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-204.  Rulemaking powers relating to examinations. The board may adopt rules 
for the following: 
 (1)  the terms and conditions under which a candidate shall obtain credit for passing the 
required examination or portions of the examination; 
 (2)  the period of time that candidates are allowed to apply for reexamination; and 
 (3)  the fees to be charged each candidate for examinations and special examinations, 
which must be commensurate with costs.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 14, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 533, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 
66-1826; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 196, L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-205.  Duties of the department. The department shall: 
 (1)  assist the board in transactions of its business and keep a record of the board's 
official action; and 
 (2)  assess to the board the reasonable costs of the department incurred in assisting the 
board.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 21, Ch. 684, L. 1979.  
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Part 3 
 

Licensing 
 
 
Part Cross-References 
 Licensing to follow contested case procedure, 2-4-631. 
 Duty of Department to administer and grade examinations, 37-1-101. 
 Duty of Board to adopt and enforce licensing and certification rules, 37-1-131. 
 Licensing investigation and review -- record access, 37-1-135. 
 Grounds for disciplinary action as grounds for license denial -- conditions to new 
licenses, 37-1-137. 
 Licensure of criminal offenders, Title 37, ch. 1, part 2. 
 Nondiscrimination in licensing, 49-3-204.  
 
 37-50-301.  Illegal use of title. (1) A person may not assume or use the title or 
designation "certified public accountant" or the abbreviation "CPA" or any other title, 
designation, words, letters, abbreviation, sign, card, or device indicating that the person is a 
certified public accountant unless the person holds a current certificate as a certified public 
accountant under this chapter. However, a foreign accountant whose credentials are recognized 
under the provisions of 37-50-313 shall use the title under which the foreign accountant is 
generally known in the foreign country, followed by the name of the country from which the 
foreign accountant's certificate, license, or degree was received. 
 (2)  A partnership or corporation may not assume or use the title or designation "certified 
public accountant" or the abbreviation "CPA" or any other title, designation, words, letters, 
abbreviation, sign, card, or device indicating that the partnership or corporation is composed of 
certified public accountants pursuant to the requirements of 37-50-330 unless it is registered as 
required under 37-50-335. 
 (3)  A person may not assume or use the title or designation "licensed public 
accountant", "public accountant", or any other title, designation, words, letters, abbreviation, 
sign, card, or device indicating that the person is a public accountant unless the person holds a 
current license as a licensed public accountant under this chapter. 
 (4)  A partnership or corporation may not assume or use the title or designation "licensed 
public accountant", "public accountant", or any other title, designation, words, letters, 
abbreviation, sign, card, or device indicating that the partnership or corporation is composed of 
public accountants unless it is registered as required under 37-50-335. 
 (5)  A person, corporation, or partnership may not assume or use the title or designation 
"certified accountant", "chartered accountant", "enrolled accountant", "licensed accountant", 
"registered accountant", or any other title or designation likely to be confused with "certified 
public accountant", "licensed public accountant", "public accountant" or any of the abbreviations 
"CA", "EA", "LA", or "RA" or similar abbreviations likely to be confused with "CPA". However, a 
foreign accountant whose credentials are recognized under 37-50-313 shall use the title under 
which the foreign accountant is generally known in the foreign country, followed by the name of 
the country from which the foreign accountant's certificate, license, or degree was received, and 
a person who is licensed as an enrolled agent by the internal revenue service may use the title 
"enrolled agent" or the abbreviation "EA". 
 (6)  A person may not sign or affix the person's name or any trade or assumed name 
used by the person in the person's profession or business with any wording indicating that the 
person has expert knowledge in accounting or auditing to any accounting or financial statement 
or to any opinion on, report on, or certificate to any accounting or financial statement unless the 
person holds a current permit issued under 37-50-314 and all of the person's offices in this state 
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for the practice of public accounting are maintained and registered under 37-50-335. However, 
the provisions of this subsection do not prohibit any officer, employee, partner, or principal of 
any organization from affixing a signature to any statement or report in reference to the financial 
affairs of that organization with any wording designating the position, title, or office that the 
person holds in that organization, nor do the provisions of this subsection prohibit any act of a 
public official or public employee in the performance of the official's or employee's public duties. 
 (7)  A person may not sign or affix a partnership or corporation name with any wording 
indicating that it is a partnership or corporation composed of persons having expert knowledge 
in accounting or auditing to any accounting or financial statement or to any report on or 
certificate to any accounting or financial statement unless the partnership or corporation 
conforms to the requirements of 37-50-330 and is registered as required under 37-50-335. 
 (8)  A person may not assume or use the title or designation "certified public accountant" 
or "public accountant" in conjunction with names indicating or implying that there is a 
partnership or corporation or in conjunction with the designation "and company" or "and co." or 
a similar designation if there is in fact no bona fide partnership or corporation that has been 
formed subject to the provisions of 37-50-330 and registered under 37-50-335. However, it is 
lawful for a sole proprietor to continue the use of a deceased's name in connection with the sole 
proprietor's business for a reasonable period of time after the death of a former partner.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 26, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 207, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 14, 
Ch. 101, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1838; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 162, Ch. 
575, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 123, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 
375, L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-302.  Certified public accountants -- certification -- qualifications and 
requirements. The board shall grant an initial certificate as a certified public accountant to any 
person who: 
 (1)  is of good moral character; 
 (2)  has successfully passed the certified public accountants' examination; and 
 (3)  meets the requirements of education set forth in this chapter and in board rules.  
 History:  En. Sec. 7, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 168, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 166, 
Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1819; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 
335, L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-303.  Public accountants -- licensure -- qualifications and requirements. The 
board shall grant an initial license as a licensed public accountant to any person who: 
 (1)  is of good moral character; 
 (2)  meets the requirements of education set forth in this chapter and board rules; and 
 (3)  complies with the qualifications and requirements in any one of the subsections of 
37-50-304.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 8, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 168, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 167, 
Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1820; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 341, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 163, Ch. 
575, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 335, L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-304.  Public accountants -- licensure without examination of former military 
personnel -- examination otherwise required. (1) A person serving in the armed forces of the 
United States on July 1, 1969, who immediately prior to entering the armed forces represented 
to the public that the person was a public accountant and who was engaged as a principal in 
this state in the practice of public accounting as the person's principal occupation prior to 
service in the armed forces may register with the department within 6 months after the date of 
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the person's separation from active service and, on registration and payment of the license fee, 
be issued a license by the department as a licensed public accountant. A principal is either the 
owner of or a partner in an existing accounting practice on July 1, 1969. 
 (2)  To be issued a license as a licensed public accountant, a person who does not 
qualify under subsection (1) shall successfully complete those portions of the examination 
prescribed by the board by rule. The board may require successful completion of alternate 
portions of the examination for applicants holding valid United States treasury cards at the time 
of taking the examination.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 9, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 168, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 
66-1821; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 218, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 100, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  
 
 37-50-305.  Education requirements. (1) A candidate for initial certification as a 
certified public accountant or licensing as a licensed public accountant must have graduated 
from a college or university accredited to offer a baccalaureate degree: 
 (a)  with an accounting concentration or its equivalent as determined by the board; and 
 (b)  with at least 150 semester hours of credit, including those earned toward the 
baccalaureate degree or its equivalent. 
 (2)  For the purposes of this section, "initial certification" means that the candidate has 
never been certified as a certified public accountant or licensed as a licensed public accountant 
by any jurisdiction.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 12, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1824; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 684, 
L. 1979; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 382, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 196, 
L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-306.  Repealed. Sec. 26, Ch. 684, L. 1979.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 13, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 169, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1825(1), (2), (4), (5).  
 
 37-50-307.  Repealed. Sec. 26, Ch. 684, L. 1979.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 18, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 171, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1830.  
 
 37-50-308.  Repealed. Sec. 127, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 6, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 165, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 
66-1818; amd. Sec. 20, Ch. 22, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 
335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 21, Ch. 230, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 196, L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-309.  Credit for examinations taken in other jurisdictions. The board may by 
rule provide for granting credit to a candidate for the satisfactory completion of an examination 
in any one or more of the subjects of examination given by the licensing authority in another 
jurisdiction.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 13, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 169, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1825(3); amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 196, L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-310.  Existing certificates sufficient. Persons who, on July 1, 1969, held 
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certified public accountant certificates heretofore issued under the laws of this state shall not be 
required to obtain additional certificates under this chapter but shall otherwise be subject to all 
provisions of this chapter. Such certificates heretofore issued shall, for all purposes, be 
considered certificates issued under this chapter and subject to the provisions hereof.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 15, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1827(part).  
 
 37-50-311.  Certified public accountants -- waiver of examination for holders of 
foreign or out-of-state licenses, certificates, permits, or degrees. The board in its discretion 
may waive the examination and issue a certificate as a certified public accountant to any person 
otherwise eligible who is the holder of: 
 (1) a certificate, license, or permit as a certified public accountant, then in full force and 
effect, issued under the laws of any state; 
 (2)  a certificate, license, or degree in a foreign country constituting a recognized 
qualification for the practice of public accounting in that country, comparable to that of a certified 
public accountant in this state, which is then in full force and effect; or 
 (3)  a certificate, license, or degree that the board considers to be subject to 
requirements or qualifications substantially equivalent to or greater than the requirements of this 
state at the time of the holder's application.  
 History:  En. Sec. 15, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1827(part); amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 
335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 375, L. 2003.  
 
Cross-References 
 Recognition of out-of-state licenses during disaster or emergency, 10-3-204.  
 
 37-50-312.  Public accountants -- waiver of examination for holders of out-of-state 
license. The board in its discretion may waive the examination and register as a licensed public 
accountant any person otherwise eligible who is the holder of: 
 (1)  a license as a licensed public accountant, then in full force and effect, issued under 
the laws of any state; 
 (2)  a license or degree in a foreign country constituting a recognized qualification for the 
practice of public accounting in that country, comparable to that of a licensed public accountant 
in this state, which is then in full force and effect; or 
 (3)  a certificate, license, or degree that the board considers to be subject to 
requirements or qualifications substantially equivalent to or greater than the requirements of this 
state at the time of the holder's application.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 15, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1827(part); amd. Sec. 10, 
Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 375, L. 2003.  
 
Cross-References 
 Recognition of out-of-state licenses during disaster or emergency, 10-3-204.  
 
 37-50-313.  Recognition of credentials of foreign accountants -- restriction on title 
used -- practice. (1) The board may in its discretion recognize the credentials of any person of 
good moral character who is the holder of a certificate, license, or degree in a foreign country 
constituting a recognized qualification for the practice of public accounting in that country. A 
person whose credentials are recognized may use only the title under which the person is 
generally known in that country, followed by the name of the country from which the person 
received the certificate, license, or degree. 
 (2)  A person whose credentials are recognized by the board may practice public 
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accounting under the terms and conditions established by the board.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 16, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1828; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 375, 
L. 2003.  
 37-50-314.  Permit required -- display. (1) A person may not engage in the practice of 
public accounting in this state without a current permit issued by the department. A permit to 
engage in the practice of public accounting in this state must be issued by the department to a 
person who holds a current certificate as a certified public accountant or license as a licensed 
public accountant and complies with the requirements of this chapter. 
 (2)  The current permit to engage in the practice of public accounting must be 
prominently displayed for public inspection.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 21, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 174, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1833; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 
102, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 43, Ch. 492, L. 1997.  
 
 37-50-315.  Deposit of moneys collected. Fees and other moneys collected by the 
department under this chapter shall be deposited in the state special revenue fund for the use of 
the board.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 4, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 163, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 
66-1816; amd. Sec. 14, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 277, L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-316.  Other license fees prohibited. No certificate, permit, or license fees shall 
be imposed as a condition upon the practice of public accountancy other than those provided for 
in this chapter.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 30, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1842; amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 335, 
L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-317.  Repealed. Sec. 127, Ch. 467, L. 2005.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 13, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 103, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 
44, Ch. 492, L. 1997; amd. Sec. 47, Ch. 271, L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-318 through 37-50-320 reserved.  
 
 37-50-321.  Repealed. Sec. 128, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 22, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1834; amd. Sec. 15, Ch. 684, 
L. 1979; amd. Sec. 14, Ch. 335, L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-322.  Repealed. Sec. 128, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 25, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 176, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1837; amd. Sec. 15, Ch. 335, L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-323.  Special practice permit for nonresident certified public accountant -- 
rules. (1) A person may obtain a special practice permit if the person: 
 (a)  is not a Montana resident; 
 (b)  does not maintain an office in Montana; 
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 (c)  is licensed, under an active status license, to practice public accounting as a certified 
public accountant in one or more jurisdictions recognized by the board as having licensing 
standards substantially equivalent to the standards authorizing the practice of public accounting 
in this state; and 
 (d)  has not had an adverse disciplinary action taken against the person for the practice 
of public accounting by any other jurisdiction. 
 (2)  A person who obtains a special practice permit: 
 (a)  is subject to the disciplinary authority of the board for acts performed pursuant to this 
section in this state; and 
 (b)  consents to the appointment of the board of accountancy or a corresponding entity 
of the jurisdiction in which the person was issued a license to practice public accounting as a 
certified public accountant as the person's agent for the service of process in any action or 
proceeding by the board of this state against the person. 
 (3)  A special practice permit issued under this section may be renewed on an annual 
basis in the manner prescribed by the board by rule. 
 (4)  The board may adopt rules, including rules establishing fees that are commensurate 
with costs, to implement 37-50-324 and this section.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 541, L. 2005.   
 
 37-50-324.  Nonresident registration. (1) A person, firm, partnership, corporation, or 
other business entity that offers to engage in or engages in public accounting services in 
Montana through a person holding a special practice permit shall register with the board. 
 (2)  (a) A person with a special practice permit engages in unprofessional conduct if the 
person offers services for or on behalf of a person, firm, partnership, corporation, or other 
business entity that is not registered with the board pursuant to 37-50-335 or this section. 
 (b)  A person, firm, partnership, corporation, or other business entity may not lawfully 
engage in or assist in providing public accounting services in this state unless properly 
registered with the board under 37-50-335 or this section.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 2, Ch. 541, L. 2005.   
 
 37-50-325 through 37-50-329 reserved.  
 37-50-330.  Corporations and partnerships -- registration -- compliance with 
ownership requirements. (1) A corporation or partnership composed of certified public 
accountants or a corporation or partnership composed of public accountants that is or plans to 
become engaged in the practice of public accounting may include individuals who are not 
licensed as public accountants or certified as certified public accountants if: 
 (a)  the corporation or partnership designates an accountant who is licensed or certified 
in this state to be responsible for the proper registration of the corporation or partnership; 
 (b)  a simple majority of ownership in the corporation or partnership, in terms of equity 
and voting rights, is held by accountants who are licensed or certified accountants in this state 
or in another jurisdiction; 
 (c)  all persons with an ownership interest in the partnership or corporation are 
individuals actively participating in the business of the partnership or corporation; and 
 (d)  any person with an ownership interest in the partnership or corporation who is not 
licensed or certified as an accountant and who holds a professional license, registration, or 
certification issued by this state or another jurisdiction is in compliance with the requirements for 
that license, registration, or certification. 
 (2)  An accountant licensed or certified in this state who holds an ownership interest in a 
partnership or corporation organized pursuant to this section is ultimately responsible for all 
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services provided by the partnership or corporation including any unit, branch, or division of the 
partnership or corporation providing attestation services. 
 (3)  (a) A partnership or corporation that is no longer in compliance with the ownership 
requirements of subsection (1)(b) shall give notice to the board within 90 days of the 
noncompliance. 
 (b)  The board shall grant the partnership or corporation a reasonable amount of time to 
reestablish compliance with the ownership requirements of subsection (1)(b). The time granted 
by the board to a partnership or corporation to reestablish compliance may not be less than 90 
days from the date the board receives the partnership's or corporation's notice of 
noncompliance. 
 (c)  The failure of a partnership or corporation to reestablish compliance with the 
ownership requirements of subsection (1)(b) is grounds for the board to suspend or revoke the 
partnership's or corporation's registration required by 37-50-335.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 123, L. 2001.  
 
 37-50-331.  Repealed. Sec. 3, Ch. 123, L. 2001.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 17, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 170, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1829; amd. Sec. 16, Ch. 684, L. 1979.  
 
 37-50-332.  Repealed. Sec. 3, Ch. 123, L. 2001.  
 
 History:  En. 66-1829.1 by Sec. 1, Ch. 207, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 101, L. 1977; 
R.C.M. 1947, 66-1829.1; amd. Sec. 17, Ch. 684, L. 1979.  
 
 37-50-333.  Repealed. Sec. 3, Ch. 123, L. 2001.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 19, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 172, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1831; amd. Sec. 18, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 16, Ch. 335, L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-334.  Repealed. Sec. 3, Ch. 123, L. 2001.  
 
 History:  En. 66-1831.1 by Sec. 2, Ch. 207, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 101, L. 1977; 
R.C.M. 1947, 66-1831.1; amd. Sec. 19, Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 17, Ch. 335, L. 1983.  
 
 37-50-335.  Registration of offices. Each office established or maintained in this state 
for the practice of public accounting in this state by a certified public accountant, by a 
partnership or corporation of certified public accountants, by a licensed public accountant, by a 
partnership or corporation of licensed public accountants, or by a foreign accountant recognized 
under 37-50-313 must be registered annually with the department. A fee may not be charged for 
this registration. In addition, each individual engaged in this state in the practice of public 
accounting must have annually received a permit under 37-50-314.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 20, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 207, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 
173, Ch. 350, L. 1974; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 101, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1832; amd. Sec. 20, 
Ch. 684, L. 1979; amd. Sec. 18, Ch. 335, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 375, L. 2003.  
 
 37-50-336.  Repealed. Sec. 128, Ch. 429, L. 1995.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 23, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 207, L. 1974; R.C.M. 1947, 
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66-1835.  
 
 37-50-337 through 37-50-340 reserved.  
 
 37-50-341.  Initiation of proceedings -- hearings and rulemaking. (1) The board may 
initiate proceedings under this chapter either on its own motion or on the complaint of a person. 
 (2)  Hearings and rulemaking proceedings shall be governed in all respects by the 
Montana Administrative Procedure Act.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 24, Ch. 118, L. 1969; amd. Sec. 175, Ch. 350, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 66-1836.  
 
Cross-References 
 Montana Administrative Procedure Act, Title 2, ch. 4.  
 
 37-50-342.  Violation. Any person who violates any provision of this chapter or the rules 
of the board is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not 
more than $500, by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 6 months, or by both such 
fine and imprisonment.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 28, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1840; amd. Sec. 19, Ch. 335, 
L. 1983.  

 
 

Part 4 
 

Miscellaneous Provisions 
 
 
 37-50-401.  False statements by accountants -- misdemeanor -- penalty. Any person 
practicing as an accountant, public accountant, auditor, or certified public accountant in this 
state who, because of negligence, gross inefficiency, or willfulness, shall issue or permit the 
issuance of any false statement of the financial transactions, standing, or condition of any 
corporation, partnership, or individual business undertaking shall be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be fined not less than $500 or more than $2,000 
or imprisoned for a period of not less than 90 days or more than 1 year or subjected to both said 
fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the court.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 8, Ch. 46, L. 1933; re-en. Sec. 3241.8, R.C.M. 1935; R.C.M. 1947, 
66-1808.  
 
 37-50-402.  Privileged communications -- exceptions. (1) Except by permission of the 
client, person, firm, or corporation engaging a certified or licensed public accountant or an 
employee of the accountant or by permission of the heirs, successors, or personal 
representatives of the client, person, firm, or corporation and except for the expression of 
opinions on financial statements, a certified public accountant, licensed public accountant, or 
employee thereof may not be required to disclose or divulge or voluntarily disclose or divulge 
information that the certified or licensed accountant or an employee may have relative to and in 
connection with any professional services as a public accountant. The information derived from 
or as a result of professional services is considered confidential and privileged. 
 (2)  The provisions of this section do not apply to the testimony or documents of a public 
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accountant furnished pursuant to a subpoena in a court of competent jurisdiction, pursuant to a 
board proceeding, or in the process of any board-approved practice review program.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 29, Ch. 118, L. 1969; R.C.M. 1947, 66-1841; amd. Sec. 20, Ch. 335, 
L. 1983; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 82, L. 1993.  
 
Cross-References 
 Evidence -- privileges, Title 26, ch. 1, part 8.  
 
 37-50-403.  Nonliability -- evidential privilege -- application to nonprofit 
corporations. (1) A member of a peer review, professional standards review, or ethics review 
committee of a society composed of persons licensed to practice the accounting profession is 
not liable in damages to any person for any action taken or recommendation made within the 
scope of the functions of the committee if the committee member acts without malice and in the 
reasonable belief that the action or recommendation is warranted by the facts known to him 
after reasonable effort to obtain the facts. 
 (2)  The proceedings and records of peer review, professional standards review, and 
ethics review committees are not subject to discovery or introduction into evidence in any 
proceeding. However, information otherwise discoverable or admissible from an original source 
is not to be construed as immune from discovery or use in any proceeding merely because it 
was presented during proceedings before the committee, nor is a member of the committee or 
other person appearing before it to be prevented from testifying as to matters within his 
knowledge; however, he may not be questioned about his testimony or other proceedings 
before the committee or about opinions or other actions of the committee or any member of the 
committee. 
 (3)  This section also applies to any member, agent, or employee of a nonprofit 
corporation engaged in performing the functions of a peer review, professional standards 
review, or ethics review committee with respect to the profession of accounting.  
 
 History:  En. Sec. 1, Ch. 197, L. 1991.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


