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MONTANA BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS 
P. O. Box 200513 

301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR (Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 841-2378 FAX (406) 841-2309 
E-MAIL: dlibsdcos@mt.gov      WEBSITE: www.cosmetology.mt.gov 

 
ILLEGIBLE AND INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED. 

Please allow 10 days for processing from the date the Board receives a completed routine application 
 

BOOTH RENTERS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO PRACTICE BOOTH RENTER SERVICES IN MONTANA IN 
ANY MANNER WITHOUT AN ACTIVE MONTANA LICENSE.  

ALL SERVICES MUST BE PERFORMED IN A LICENSED BARBERSHOP OR SALON. 
 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS: 
♦ Must hold a current Montana Barber, Cosmetologist, Electrologist, Esthetician or Manicurist 

license that is in good standing. 
♦ Must abide by the requirements of 39-51-204, MCA.  

 
FEES: 

♦ $ 40.00 Booth Rental License Application Fee 
**Make check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists** 

 
DOCUMENTS:   

♦ Manicurists and Estheticians only: Proof of completion of the application for Workers’ 
Compensation insurance or the exemption as required by MCA 39-51-204.  For more 
information regarding this form and information regarding it, please contact the Workers’ 
Compensation Regulation Bureau at (406) 444-9016. 

 
APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

♦ When the application file is complete, it will be processed by Board staff for permanent licensure.   
♦ An incomplete or non-routine application may be a delayed.  You may be requested to provide 

additional information or to make a personal appearance before the Board during a regularly 
scheduled Board meeting. These applications may take up to 120 days to process. 

♦ All verifications of licensure must be sent directly from each state board in which the applicant is 
currently or has ever been licensed.  Some states may charge a fee for verification.  Contact each 
state board for its requirements. 

♦ Keep the Board office informed at all times of any address change, change in license status and 
complaints or proposed disciplinary action.  This is essential for timely processing of applications 
and subsequent licensure. 

 
PROCESSING PROCEDURES  

♦ Once a complete routine application is received, processing may require up to 10 days to process. 
♦ The applicant will be notified in writing of any deficient or missing items from the application file. 
♦ Once a routine application is processed and approved, a permanent license will be issued. 
 

For information regarding the processing of this application or other concerns please contact the 
Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists staff at (406) 841-2378 or email us at dlibsdcos@mt.gov 

PLEASE BE SURE TO REVIEW THE MONTANA LAWS AND RULES FOR THE PRACTICE OF BOOTH 
RENTERS ON OUR WEBSITE:  www.cosmetology.mt.gov 
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MONTANA BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS 

P. O. Box 200513 
301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR (Delivery) 

Helena, Montana 59620-0513 
(406) 841-2378 FAX (406) 841-2309 

E-MAIL: dlibsdcos@mt.gov      WEBSITE: www.cosmetology.mt.gov 
 
Application for licensure as:  (All fees are non-refundable and are not pro-rated) 
 

Booth Rental $40.00   
 

 
Please allow 10 days for processing a completed routine application. 
        
1. FULL NAME:  
   Last     First     Middle 
 
2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY:  
 
 
3. HOME ADDRESS:  

Street or PO Box #   City and State    Zip 
  
4. TELEPHONE: (            )                                  (              )                                       
  Home Fax E-mail Address 
 
5. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:                                                   FOREIGN ID NUMBER:   
 
6.  PROFESSIONAL LICENSE TYPE     PROFESSIONAL LICENSE NUMBER:   
       
7.   LICENSE NAME  
     (State your name as it should appear on the license if granted.) 
 
8. Has any legal or civil disciplinary action been filed against you which relates to your propriety of, 

or your fitness to practice this profession?  If yes, attach a detailed explanation and provide 
documentation. 
 

 
  Yes  No 

9. Has a licensing agency ever taken adverse or disciplinary action against your license?  If yes, 
attach a detailed explanation and provide documentation from the licensing agency.  

 
 

  Yes  No 
10. Has a complaint ever been made against you alleging unethical behavior, or unprofessional 

conduct? If yes, attach a detailed explanation and documentation. 
 

 
  Yes  No 

 
11. Have you ever had a license or work permit denied, revoked or suspended?  If yes, attach a 

detailed explanation and documentation. 
 

 
  Yes  No 

12. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered, cancelled or forfeited your license or work permit?  If yes, 
attach a detailed explanation. 

 
  Yes  No 
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AFFIDAVIT 

 
I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training, record, character, license history and 
competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana Board of Barbers and 
Cosmetologists 
 
I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and complete to 
the best of my knowledge.  In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or evasive answer to 
any question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical grounds.  I 
have read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the 
profession.  I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice. 
 
 
 
                
Legal Signature of Applicant      Date 
 
 


